ICAE 2023 Awards


The conference committee invite nominations for the fourth Lifetime Contribution in Autoethnography Award.

This award recognises those who have made a significant contribution to the development and nurturance of the field of autoethnography and/or those working within it. For some years, we have felt a need to recognise, honour and give thanks to those who have supported this genre of research, scholarship and activism. We would like this recognition to be awarded from ‘the autoethnography community’ as a collective.  

If you would like to nominate someone for the fourth Lifetime Contribution in Autoethnography Award please email Trude Goril Klevan Trude.Goril.Klevan@usn.no with a short letter providing a rationale for your nomination. 

Closing date for nominations 1st May 2024.

Previous recipients:

2020 Alec Grant https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXqCw-Tyq0E

2021 Carolyn Ellis & Arthur Bochner https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muy_P71Br84

2022 Kim Etherington https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZL0hh_cTHbE

2023 Gayle Letherby https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJb3mURE_jA&t=582s

2023 Marks the commencement of two additional awards for contributions to the field see below

Dissertation Award

“Through the prism of the missing” Pascale Wasching

Presented by Christa Welsh

2023 ICAE Film Award “Sand in Sculpture by David Carless